Project participants

The following people have assisted in the administration and organisation of the network and its events.

Vicki Hesketh is a designer/maker from the Lake District. She specialises in publication and print design, and has experience with exhibitions, installations, textiles, digital, web design (including CSS coding). Vicki loves to research her subject matter subject and design with a concept in mind.

Visit Vicki’s website.

Bee Hughes is a founding member and is the design and web coordinator for this project.

Visit Bee’s website.

Judith Szabunia is a PhD researcher in the Department of Social Anthropology at the University of St Andrews. Her research explores the notions of ‘entitlement’ and ‘right’ with regard to reproduction in the Republic of Ireland. Judith is particularly interested in how discourses surrounding these concepts mediate the relationship between the individual and the state. Judith is a Research Assistant on this project.


Conference participants

The following people attended the network’s first major conference entitled Critical Perspectives on Menstruation, which was held at the University of St Andrews on 31st May 2019.

Charlotte Amrouche, founder of MÍOSTA.

Prof. Bettina Bildhauer, School of Modern Languages, University of St Andrews.
Catherine Bozec, Zero Waste Scotland.

Nicola Bristow, Plan UK, Let’s Talk Period. Campaign.

Eilidh Dickson, Policy and Parliamentary Manager, Engender.

Abby Fraser, PhD candidate at the University of Glasgow.

Bee Hughes, PhD candidate, Liverpool John Moores University.

Sally King, Director of Menstrual Matters and PhD candidate at King’s College London.

Dr Lyndsay Mann, Lecturer in Art at Edinburgh College of Art, University of Edinburgh.

Natalie Moffat, University of Glasgow.

Lara Owen, Department of Management, Monash Business School, Monash University.

Dr Jennifer Remnant, School of Social Sciences [page not found], Heriot-Watt University.

Dr Camilla Mørk Røstvik, Leverhulme Early Career Fellow, University of St Andrews.

Bethany Suggett, PhD candidate at the Centre for Women’s Studies, University of York.

Dr Maria Tomlinson, Department of Journalism Studies, University of Sheffield.

Prof. Sharra Vostral [can’t open] , Associate Professor at the Department of History, Purdue University.

Jennie Webster, National Association for Premenstrual Syndrome.

Vickie Williams, PhD Candidate, The Open University.


The following people attended the network’s third conference, Go With the Flow: Understanding How Menstrual Health Interacts with Sport and Physical Activity, held at at the University of Stirling, 7th and 8th February 2020.

Prof. Bettina Bildhauer, University of St Andrews.

Natalie Brown, Welsh Institute of Performance Science (Sport Wales & Swansea University).

Bee Hughes, Liverpool John Moores University.

Birgit Hutcheon.

Molly Hyde, Hey Girls.

Tania John, Women’s Adventure Expo CIC.

Dr Helen Kemp, Trustee, Menopause Café.

Doug MacDonald, Canoe Scotland.

Kirstin MacGregor, University of Stirling.

Ian MacKinnon, Active Stirling.

David McArdle, Scottish FA.

Stephanie McLean, Scottish Sport Futures.

Dr Colin N Moran, University of Stirling.

Lisa Murawsky, Naandi Foundation.

Dr Kacey Neely, University of Stirling.

Caroline Ness, Making Sport Fit.

Lara Owen, Department of Management, Monash Business School, Monash University.

Adam Riley.

Dr Camilla Mørk Røstvik, University of St Andrews.

Joanne Sayer.

Lorna Simpson.

Lilamani de Soysa, Independent Consultant for UNESCO & Member of the IWG (International Working Group for Women and Sport).

Dr Kay Standing, Liverpool John Moores University.

Dr Maria Tomlinson, University of Sheffield.

Matt Toynbee, RYA Scotland Performance Manager.

Rachel Weiss, Menopause Café.